The OLMA Salerno Society

The Our Lady of Mercy Academy Salerno Society was created in 2012 and is named in honor of Sister Mary Dolores Salerno, D.M., Our Lady of Mercy Academy’s first principal. It was through her efforts that OLMA introduced sports as an integral part of the school’s curriculum.

The mission of The Salerno Society is twofold:  First, to honor Sister Dolores for her incredible commitment to OLMA as principal.  Secondly, to pay tribute to the many others who have contributed to the growth of our school as athletes, scholars, teachers, coaches, benefactors, and career professionals.

NOTE:  Nominations are now being accepted for the 2018 slate of inductees to the Hall of Fame.  To learn more and make a nomination, please click here.  

2017 Honorees

Recognized for the profound impact they’ve had on the young women of OLMA, this year’s slate of honorees includes:

Bifulco Farms & Family:

Representing three Bifulco families that have gone above and beyond the call of duty in support of OLMA and Daughters of Mercy.

Susan Cavagnaro:

OLMA Class of 1967 and long-time faculty member.

Dr. Alexis Harvey:

OLMA Class of 1977 and radiation oncology specialist.

2009 Varsity Crew Team members, Senior Quad Boat —
 Isabella Lezzi, Mary Golden, Gina Marie Hartman and Abigail Kazan (Abbot)
These young women who championed the sport of crew at OLMA.
2016 Inductees
Peter & Marie Dandrea Family
Victoria Imbesi
Kathleen Valla
Thomas McCarville

2015 Inductees:

Rosemary “Rockie” Angelo
Kay Tanner
Jena Peacock
The Christopher Romano Family

2014 Inductees:

Mrs. Elizabeth “Betty” Dondero
The Henry and Martha Scalfo Family
OLMA’s 2009 N.J. State Champion Track & Field Team
Lieutenant General Flora D. Darpino, The Judge Advocate General, US Army

2013 Inductees:

Peter & Enes Galetto Family
Newfield National Bank
Mrs. Michele McGrath
Mrs. Helen Trionfo
Ms. Jeanine Heil

2012 Inductees:

Mr. Philip Caporale
Mr. Carmine Catalana
Ms. Dolores Lopergolo
Mr. John Bohanna